Welcome to PatsFans.com

Hernandez fumble question.

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by SpiderFox53, Oct 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpiderFox53

    SpiderFox53 Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    Just after he caught the ball, he was hit and taken to the ground, losing the ball just before being down. My question is, does the rule about maintaining possession through the ground not apply in this case? Does it only apply in the end zone and out of bounds?
     
  2. VJCPatriot

    VJCPatriot Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    12,419
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -4

    That thought was on my mind too. I was thinking, if he doesn't maintain possession all the way to the ground, then it should be an incomplete pass. However there is a rule that if you make a 'football move' then the ball can be fumbled afterwards. But the refs have to determine that Hernandez had 'possession' first before making the football move and subsequently having it stripped. I guess the ruling on the field was that he had possession and a catch before the strip occurred.
     
  3. PatsFaninAZ

    PatsFaninAZ In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0

    The rule applies both in the end zone and in the field of play. There is an additional rule that applies on the side line if you go to ground in the act of completing a pass, where you must maintain it through the hitting of the ground (applies at the end line too).

    They must have ruled that he was not going to the ground in the act of catching the ball, which is probably right in this case. I thought it was a completed catch and "football move" without going to ground.
     
  4. PatsWickedPissah

    PatsWickedPissah PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24,430
    Likes Received:
    955
    Ratings:
    +2,892 / 26 / -17

    Disable Jersey

    What about the blow to his facemask?
     
  5. cavtroop

    cavtroop 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0 / -2

    #87 Jersey

    they threw the flag, and picked it up. Unsure why, it was never explained.
     
  6. PatsWickedPissah

    PatsWickedPissah PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24,430
    Likes Received:
    955
    Ratings:
    +2,892 / 26 / -17

    Disable Jersey

    Precisely my point. Strange.

    That said, I'm not a "refs are against us" kinda guy.
    Just strange.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  7. Uncle Rico

    Uncle Rico Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    326
    Ratings:
    +816 / 1 / -5

    No Jersey Selected

    I took that as a referee trying to mark the spot where it was down by contact and grabbing the yellow flag by accident. Spazz moment.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  8. cavtroop

    cavtroop 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0 / -2

    #87 Jersey

    it wasnt too bad of a hit really, just a reach around glancing blow. probably felt it was incidental and not worth a call.
     
  9. PatsWickedPissah

    PatsWickedPissah PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24,430
    Likes Received:
    955
    Ratings:
    +2,892 / 26 / -17

    Disable Jersey

    Agree with prior posts
     
  10. Patspsycho

    Patspsycho Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    The bean bag is used for that.
     
  11. SpiderFox53

    SpiderFox53 Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    I don't think the ref's are against us either, I was just asking as I wasn't sure of the rule.
     
  12. PatsSox363804

    PatsSox363804 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    45
    Ratings:
    +156 / 2 / -1

    I took it as he threw the flag instead of the bean bag.
     
  13. Patspsycho

    Patspsycho Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    That would be a massive brain fart because both items feel very different, and are tucked in different places. The yellow flag is tucked in so that the ball is hanging out and that's the first thing you feel, when you reach for something to throw. There's no ball attached to the beanbag.
     
  14. Peachhead

    Peachhead PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ratings:
    +129 / 12 / -0

    #75 Jersey

    I don't think a "blow to the facemask" is a penalty. Unless the guy getting hit is a QB. My guess on the picked up flag was the ref thought someone grabbed AHern's facemask. which is a penalty, but a second official told the first that it was a blow instead of a grab.

    (i.e. - Just keep your fingers out of the holes in the facemask and no foul)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  15. PatsWickedPissah

    PatsWickedPissah PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24,430
    Likes Received:
    955
    Ratings:
    +2,892 / 26 / -17

    Disable Jersey

    Hands to the face, esp by a defensive player is a penalty. DLs get called for it against OLs.
     
  16. Peachhead

    Peachhead PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ratings:
    +129 / 12 / -0

    #75 Jersey

    I believe that's only if the hand goes under the facemask (usually to the chin for OL/DL)
     
  17. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,874
    Likes Received:
    384
    Ratings:
    +968 / 72 / -55

    #50 Jersey

    I'm pretty sure the official grabbed and threw the wrong flag. I believe he meant to throught the blue one which marks where the ball changed possession.
     
  18. Uncle Rico

    Uncle Rico Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    326
    Ratings:
    +816 / 1 / -5

    No Jersey Selected

    Yup. That's why I wrote "grabbing the yellow flag by accident. Spazz moment."
     
  19. NSPF

    NSPF Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    I don't know, any rule that says that wasn't a fumble is a bad rule. I think the distinction here was that he wasn't going to the ground when he actually caught the ball. However, even if there was some technicality that changed the call to an incompletion, I'm still getting very worried about this fumbling problem, especially since I don't think the offense is the same without him, and he's going to continue touching the ball frequently.
     
  20. VJCPatriot

    VJCPatriot Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    12,419
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -4

    He just needs to use more stickum. :) Either that or he should be having frequent hot dates with the Jugs machine!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>