PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Great points about Deflategate by lawyer Paul Izzo

Status
Not open for further replies.

NashuaPats

In the Starting Line-Up
Reaction score
https://plus.google.com/107024350048489509991/posts/JkHTV8FsmNr

Here's one of his points that is well thought out.

"7. Much has been made of Brady's refusal to turn over his cell phone. The suggestion has been made that Brady, obviously, had something to hide and that it related directly to the entire business about deflating footballs. And the suggestion that Brady must have been hiding something is strengthened, critics claim, by the fact that Brady refused to produce self-selected texts addressing just the issue of deflated footballs.

In my judgment, based on my years of experience as an attorney, my belief that this part of the story represents a clever legal maneuver by the wells legal team. Wells new, for several weeks, that Brady had refused to produce his phone for examination. Very late in the process, he made another request for the phone, probably because he knew that the request would be declined a second time. Bradys declination, however, for the wells and important opening-it would give him the opportunity to claim that the refusal to turn over the phone was, in and of itself, proof on Bradys part of consciousness of guilt. Now, I can tell you that in an ordinary legal proceeding, That would've been a lot of arguing over whether the refusal to produce the phone could be presented to the Jury as evidence that Brady had done something wrong. But in the court of public opinion, no opportunity was given to Brady to keep that fact from being disclosed. This allowed Wells to get out in front of the issue, and paint Brady and someone hiding the truth before Brady even had a chance to defend his decision and argue that his failure to produce text messages, in any form, was a relevant given the absence of other direct evidence against him."