PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Grahambo as a spy on Merriman?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patfandango

On the Roster
Reaction score
I'm not very good at this and would like feedback on this from all the X and O guys on this site. One strategy to neutralize a key offensive component (e.g. Faulk in SB 36) is to dedicate a single player as spy on every play. Has this ever been done for a defensive key player? The Chargers feed off of Merriman and a different strategy to frustrate him early may pay dividends. Graham is a great blocker and athletic enough to at least slow Merriman down. Constantly double teaming him has the disadvantage that it opens up opportunities for Phillips and others. Is this idiotic and how is it flawed? Here to learn.
Thanks.

Dan

I think you'll see Graham line up on the left side as help for Matt Light. You'll probably also see some RB help either on double-teams or chipping Merriman when he comes with the rush.

I'd also expect to see some planned rollouts away from Merriman in the passing game and some screens, draws and traps to slow down the pass rush.

Gonna take a lot of creativity to keep Merriman in line.

Due to illegal motion, etc, it's difficult for a TE to be a spy, unlike a LB on a running QB when a LB can move when and where he wants.

The more likely scenario in a TE blocking way would be 2 TE with TE staying in when a LB comes and going out into a pattern of the LB doesn't rush.