Welcome to PatsFans.com

GOP Rep. Jason Chaffetz Willing To Investigate Bush For Torture

Discussion in 'Political Discussion' started by Holy Diver, Nov 9, 2010.

1. Holy Diver

Holy Diver Pro Bowl Player

Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0

#80 Jersey

ThinkProgress GOP Rep. Jason Chaffetz Willing To Investigate Bush For Torture: I Have No ‘Hesitation Whatsoever’

RATIGAN: How far back do you think is appropriate? Because the one thing that’s not on this list is for instance a torture investigation.

CHAFFETZ: Well, it may be on the list as well. I’m not afraid of going after the Bush administration. I wasn’t brought here by the establishment. When I ran for congressman in 2008, I’m just a freshman year, George W. Bush, Orrin Hatch, and Bob Bennett, three Republicans, they campaigned against me. So I don’t mind going back and looking at ‘em. So I don’t have any hestitation whatsoever.

My man!

2. Holy Diver

Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0

#80 Jersey

for those of you on this board who are FOOLISH enough to believe that torture saved any american lives:

ThinkProgress Former British Government Minister Disputes Bush’s Claim That Waterboarding Foiled Terror Plots In Britain

“I don’t think there was any doubt there were real plots,” Mr Howells told the BBC Radio 4 Today programme. “Where I doubt what President Bush has said is that this, what we regard as torture, actually produced information which was instrumental in preventing those plots coming to fruition. I’m not convinced of that."

“There is no point having international justice for petty African dictators if you can’t apply it to the leaders of powerful countries like the US. … “I’m not saying that [Bush’s] claim that torture evidence prevented terror attacks has no credibility whatsoever, but no evidence has been presented.”