PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Fred Taylor taking different training route

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmt57

Staff member
Reaction score
Fred Taylor taking different training route for Patriots - story in Jacksoville's Florida Times-Union

Talks about coming in to OTA's after skipping them in Jacksonville the last couple of years: "This is all voluntary," he said. "If I'm going to be able to play with the guys that are on the team, then you volunteer to come in and try to not get ahead, but not be behind, not get yelled at too much. I decided to come out here with the rookies and the other guys returning to the team. It's fun getting to know my teammates, getting to know all the different faces around here, the coaches."

"I just came here to do a job. I've been working in this business for 11 years. I want to learn the playbook, so I don't have to hesitate. I don't want to feel like a rookie out there. I listen. I've always been coachable. Whatever I've got to do, I've got to do it, but it starts with learning the plays," he said.

He has good news to report on the wrist injury, saying it was nothing major: "It was a little blown out of proportion. It was a minor slip-up at the workout," he said.

The article goes on about the two major goals Taylor has left: passing Jim Brown on the all-time rushing list and winning that elusive Super Bowl ring.

"I've always said I wanted to catch Jim Brown," he said. Brown is eighth at 12,312 yards and Taylor is 16th at 11,271.

"Whether I do or don't, it's been great playing in the NFL for this long. When you look at the average life span, things that I've gone through throughout my career with injuries. ... I've just got to keep moving forward. Whatever I end with, I'll take it,'' he said.