Welcome to PatsFans.com

Franchise tag question...

Discussion in 'Patriots Draft Talk' started by TheKraftyOne, Feb 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKraftyOne

    TheKraftyOne Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    I'm not sure if this has been asked and answered but, does a team signing a non-exclusive franchise player have to give up two of their own picks or can they part with one acquired in a trade? There was a lot of grumbling last year when the Pats gave up their later pick and kept the one they used on Mayo. I'm not sure if there was ever a stated reason why Goodell didn't force the earlier pick to be forfeited or if it has a bearing on the question. It could force the Lions to give up the 1st pick overall if there is some hard and fast rule about it instead of #20, unless there's a trade.
     
  2. Metaphors

    Metaphors In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0

    A team has to give up a pick in the round at their assigned position or better. So if Detroit signs a franchise player, they would have to use #1 in the transaction. Any talk about Detroit going after Cassel using #20 was via trade.
     
  3. TheKraftyOne

    TheKraftyOne Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0


    Hmm, smells like someone could be cooking with Curry...as in the LB.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>