PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Explaining the QB Position to a complete Novice

Status
Not open for further replies.

NovaScotiaPatsFan

In the Starting Line-Up
Reaction score
Hey all, I know a lot of you guys are a lot more in to the actual mechanics of the game than I am, and I'd like to learn a little bit, in my efforts to become a more savvy fan. The first thing I'm interested in is the QB position.

I was watching something on one of the Sunday shows where they were mentioning the height of Drew Brees and they were talking about how QB's change protection based on who the "Mike" is and i was wondering if someone could explain that to me, what is the "Mike" and how does a QB change protection based on knowing (or thinking they know) who he is?

Hey all, I know a lot of you guys are a lot more in to the actual mechanics of the game than I am, and I'd like to learn a little bit, in my efforts to become a more savvy fan. The first thing I'm interested in is the QB position.

I was watching something on one of the Sunday shows where they were mentioning the height of Drew Brees and they were talking about how QB's change protection based on who the "Mike" is and i was wondering if someone could explain that to me, what is the "Mike" and how does a QB change protection based on knowing (or thinking they know) who he is?

The mike is the middle linebacker who sets up the defensive alignment. He's the equivalent of the qb on defense. In the 3-4 defense the mike can switch from weak side to strong side of the offense ( strong side is the side with the tight end next to the tackle). The mike is usually the best, most experienced middle lb on the roster. It's important for the center and guards to know where he is lined up, since they can't always see past the defensive lineman in front of them.

I'm not an expert, but I've understood it this way: