Discussion in 'NFL Football Forum' started by thenepatsrule, Jan 2, 2013.
Randall Cobb takes advantage of bizarre NFLÂ rule | Audibles - SI.com
That's a SMART player.
When is he a free agent?
He's essentially a developed and younger Edelman
Looked like he did it accidentally.
Wow, surprised nobody has ever done that before. I wonder if they would consider a rule change if this became popular.
I dont think that was accidental
Look how he sticks his right foot way way out to make sure there's no mistaking it's far out of bounds, and then how he casually flips the ball to the ref. He knew exactly what he was doing.
Maybe the Titans kicker has a habit of kicking outside the hash marks and he was coached up on this, but it is still impressive.
A Cardinals player did it a couple of years back but it's rare to see surprisingly.
It's a common thing in Rugby too. Some players in the NFL probably don't know about it though.
wow, thats kinda awesome, it will make kickers make sure they stay away from the sidelines....
This made me think back to Super Bowl 36, and I had to do a little research for facts but can't find a video:
After the TD pass to Patten near the end of the half gave the Pats a 14-3 lead, Vinatieri's kick-off was taken by Marshall Faulk, who stepped out of bound at the 6 with 30 seconds left.
I wonder if this rule was in place then; if so, and if Faulk thought of it, I wonder if he had a chance to make this type of play, give his team the ball at the 40, and maybe have a chance for an FG before the half. Does anyone remember that kick?
I remember that kick. Seemed pretty fortuitous at the time, looking like a guy desperate to make a play in a situation he wasn't used to being in.
A patriots player has done this before. I don't remember who it was, but it was a sunday night game, I remember the commentators going on and on about how attentive the Pats were to details.
I found the play-by-play:
Faulk ran out-of-bounds at the 6 with 31 seconds left.
USATODAY.com - Super Bowl XXXVI play-by-play
I would not have liked to have seen Kurt Warner take the ball at his own 40, with 31 seconds, and one timeout.
At the time I think the live analysis was that if Faulk had been the regular kickoff return guy (he wasn't), he might have chosen to let it bounce and go out-of-bounds, perhaps giving his team the ball at the 40. In actuality, maybe all he had to do was step out of bounds and field the ball. That could have made a huge difference.
Very good play smart player, smart coaching, situational football at it's best.
Probably very few chances to do it. The ball has to be rolling close to the sideline and slow enough to get yourself in Cobb's position there, usually the KR is lined up inside the hashmarks. Alot of kicks probably just roll out of bounds anyways.
But wow what a heads up play. Credit to his situational awareness.
Nothing bizarre about this at all. This has been the rule for a while, and every 3 years or so a guy takes advantage of it.
Of course it will stay for the playoffs.
IIRC that kick would've easily went OOB had he just let it go. Terrible play by Faulk to field it altogether and we got very lucky there but I guess we had them in such a desperate situation at that point they were pressing for a huge play.
Good knowledge of bad rules.
A kickoff that goes out the back of the end zone is a touchback, but a kick hat bounces a whole bunch of times and then goes out of bounds gets you to the 40? That's a sign of a bad rule.
Let a kick that doesn't bounce before going out start at the 40. But a fielded ball should be reckoned from where the runner ends up.
Very smart play, but I thought this rule was common knowledge. The Pats have taken advantage of it before.
I don't think that's a little known rule. Teams coach players to do that. I believe Welker did that before (or maybe Hobbs? I don't think Welker returned kickoffs) I forget. But we definitely had a returner do that within the last 5 years or so.
Kick the ball through the end zone and this play is redundant. Simple solution to a simple problem.
An interesting note: the rule actually gives the opposing team the ball 25 yards from the original KO spot.
When the KO was at the 30, the rule gave the opposing team the ball 30 yards from the original KO spotâ€”that is, still at their own 40.
This is actually related to the Ratbirds meltdown of 2007â€”when Gostkowski kicked from BAL 35, if he had kicked out of bounds it would have given them the ball at the BAL 5.
I think you may not be reading the rule in its entirety. There is an 'or' part which states that the ball can be placed at the out of bounds point, so unless Gost had kicked it out of bounds 5 or less yds, then we would have had this advantage. But we could have gotten them under 20 though since I am sure he could have aimed that much out. I hope it makes sense. Not going to read what I have written.
Leon Washington did this same thing a few years ago when he was on the Jets. It's a legit rule.
Yeah, that's true: it is (now) 25 yards or the actual spot the ball went out.
I just went with the simpler version. I still think the Pats should have gone for the onside kick.
The key to this is that the player is already out of bounds when he makes first contact. He couldn't pick it up inbounds and make a dash for it out of bounds and have the rule apply.
I wonder why this isn't considered an illegal touch? First to touch after being out of bounds.
If he had stepped out and then came back in-bounds to field the ball, it would have been. The key was to still be out of bounds while controlling the ball.
The Patriots have done this before, i can remember at least one occasion where a smart patriots special teamer did this and i remember it from then.
Plays like this is why you invest in a good gunner, if you can get there, or nearly there before the balls drops, it forces the punt returner to either fair catch it or let it go.
It would be an incredibly risky play to touch the ball so close to the goal line with a gunner barreling down at you, it could potentially result in a touchdown for the kicking team. If you remember the 49ers playoff game in the NFC championship last year, the 49ers punt returner muffed the punt twice in the same game and ended up essentially costing the 49ers the game, Plays like this is why Belichick stresses the importance of field position and special teams.
If Matthew Slater was right on top of Cobb on this play, Cobb would have likely been forced to back off and let Slater down it at the 4, which is obviously a huge difference.
it's been done before, and it was praised last time too
Separate names with a comma.