Welcome to PatsFans.com

Brady threw 3 TDs today

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by upstater1, Oct 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. upstater1

    upstater1 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,108
    Likes Received:
    50
    Ratings:
    +114 / 9 / -3

    The ball to Welker that was initially ruled out of bounds was actually a touchdown. I can maybe understand the refs for missing the call but how could the official in the booth miss it? What if the Patriots didn't score a TD right there? The booth official blew it. That was a touchdown.
     
  2. brady199

    brady199 Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -1

    Since when is the one yard line worth 6 points?
     
  3. Le Numéro Douze

    Le Numéro Douze On the Roster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    He got the pylon, didn't he? I was pretty sure it should have been called a TD, too.
     
  4. A.C Vegas

    A.C Vegas In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    #11 Jersey

    No it was not a TD the ball as to cross the plane of the goal line and the only thing that did was Welker's foot he had the ball away from the GL when he was pushed out
     
  5. brady199

    brady199 Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -1

    Years ago, the goaline extended out of bounds, but that no longer is the rule. Also, I think the pats wanted to run a play quickly in case Welker had a foot out of bounds, since it was so close.
     
  6. tuckeverlasting

    tuckeverlasting 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0

    No Jersey Selected

    the exact opposite of what i thought. you might need glasses.
     
  7. wpdougie2180

    wpdougie2180 On the Game Day Roster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    See i understand what your saying but the refs are not consistent with that ruling do you remember the TD catch by Santinio Holmes when he was with the Steelers vs the Ravens where he caught the ball both feet in the endzone but the ball like on the 3 and they called it a TD.

    here's an article talking about it:
    http://http://www.faniq.com/blog/Video-Santonio-Holmes-Controversial-Game-Winning-Touchdown-Catch-Pittsburgh-Steelers-Vs-Baltimore-Ravens-Blog-16139

    And here's video:
    Santonio Holmes Controversial Game Winning TD Catch! - Video
     
  8. upstater1

    upstater1 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,108
    Likes Received:
    50
    Ratings:
    +114 / 9 / -3

    He hit the pylon before his foot went out of bounds.
     
  9. Mark Morse

    Mark Morse PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0

    #15 Jersey

    When I saw the play I immediately thought it should have been ruled a TD. It would have to be a coaches challenge to get the play reviewed. Booth reviews are only in the last two minutes and after a TD. Since it wasn't ruled a TD the booth can't review it. The ball doesn't have to break the plane of the goal line when the pylon is in play. Example is a WR tiptoes around the pylon but has the ball in the outside hand. Ball actually never passes the goal line but its still a TD.
     
  10. upstater1

    upstater1 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,108
    Likes Received:
    50
    Ratings:
    +114 / 9 / -3

    But they did review it. It went to review and was confirmed a catch by the booth.
     
  11. Patsrock

    Patsrock Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0

    It was not reviewed, it was overturned on the field by another official. Since it was not ruled a TD it had to be a coaches challenge.
     
  12. Big-T

    Big-T In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,836
    Likes Received:
    294
    Ratings:
    +784 / 14 / -6

    #51 Jersey

    If the ball was in his right arm and not his left it would have been a TD, but because it was in his left the ball never crossed the GL.
     
  13. upstater1

    upstater1 Pro Bowl Player

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,108
    Likes Received:
    50
    Ratings:
    +114 / 9 / -3

    You're right, I forgot they rushed to the line
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>