PatsFans.com Menu
PatsFans.com - The Hub For New England Patriots Fans

Brady...how long, how much?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't like spending that much money on unproven players.

I don't like spending that much money on unproven players.

Yeah, let's give this sixth rounder a chance to make the team next year first.

I'm not good with contract numbers but I am thrilled to see that we were able to move a lot of money into next year. We knew there were lots of incentives hitting our cap and this will offset most of them. Between Stallworth, Washington, Brady, Colvin, we have lots of places to save money either with letting a player move on or doing a new, longer contract. We may not be leading the league in cap space but we'll be in pretty good shape (albeit down a few players) once the above are dealt with. We'll have the money to re-sign Samuel if we choose to.

So if I understand Reiss correctly, the Pats before the Eckels move were about 5 million under the 2008 cap, and are now 10 million or so under before NLTBE credits are applied, and that significant cap space can be easily cleared without significant dead money by cutting/trading Stallworth and Washington a week after the Super Bowl. Further funds can be made available by a reasonable resigning of Colvin to a three or four year deal for maybe 5 million/year, and Brady's number is the monster that hangs if the Patriots really want/need to create space, although waiting until 2009 to redo his deal may be more advantageous.

Is that correct?