Welcome to PatsFans.com

BB on turning for the ball

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by Uncle Rico, Oct 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Uncle Rico

Uncle Rico Veteran Starter w/Big Long Term Deal

Ratings:
    +813 / 1 / -5

No Jersey Selected

Mods, feel free to merge with any number of McCourty threads, but as a football layman I thought his was interesting via Reiss, considering all the angst over the subject:

Just glad someone finally asked him about it.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  2. ForThoseAboutToRock

ForThoseAboutToRock Third String But Playing on Special Teams

Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0

#50 Jersey

Interesting points about the goal of keeping cover on the WR.

Why would this technique not be working properly?

A - The DB is either peaking for the ball too often (allows WR to uncover) or lacks the athletic skills to maintain proper coverage

B - The DB is in good coverage, the QB throws it anyways and the DB doesn't succeed in his "play the hands" technique (luck/success example is the AFCC, for one).

C - "Other" which is probably headlined by poor communication leading to inadequate coverage on certain parts of the field. An example of this would be a CB playing outside technique while expecting a S to cover from the inside - but not getting this help due to miscommunication or a bite on play action.

3. holyredeemer

holyredeemer Third String But Playing on Special Teams

Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0

#12 Jersey

Sorry. Just dont buy it. There is truth is what Bill said, but at the same time, that just shows D-Mac has lost his feel for the ball. I mean come on. Want a first down? Just toss it down the field at McCourty. Instant flag.

I love D-Mac, and really want to see him succeed. He wont until these little things are fixed. What blows my mind is that he is hardly ever really beaten but as soon as that receiver goes up for that ball he loses his edge. So Bill, what did your coaches do to him?