Welcome to PatsFans.com

Affirmative Action Question

Discussion in 'Political Discussion' started by fleabassist1, Oct 26, 2007.

1. fleabassist1

fleabassist1 Rookie

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

#12 Jersey

So if the country continues the way it is going white people will be a minority pretty soon. When it happens, does that make them eligible for affirmative action?
  2. reflexblue

reflexblue PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +70 / 3 / -0

#91 Jersey

I would like to think so but I doubt it. It was around when I graduated HS and now 35 years later MY kids now have to deal with it. What has always got me was the quota part of AA that a less qualified person would get a job over a more qualified one because their a minority. I think it was a good idea 40-50 years ago but has out lived its usefullness.
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2007
  3. Patters

Patters Moderator Staff Member PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +199 / 5 / -6

Hopefully, when that happens, we'll be more like South Africa and protect the rights of the minority race (at least under the law). Affirmative action would only be necessary if we codify discrimination as was the case not too long ago, and is still the case in more subtle ways.
  4. QuiGon

QuiGon Banned

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

Ah, so you're saying you hate the notion that white people could ever be treated equally under the eyes of the law and you want to do everything you can to see to it that that never happens by further expanding racist laws. Hmmmm..... Not sure I agree...
  5. Harry Boy

Harry Boy Look Up, It's Amazing PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +559 / 2 / -9

I better keep quiet.
  6. Patters

Patters Moderator Staff Member PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +199 / 5 / -6

Whatever. :rolleyes:
  7. QuiGon

QuiGon Banned

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0