Welcome to PatsFans.com

A rules question (and did Bill miss a trick)

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by snafu, Jan 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snafu

    snafu Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Ok. I have been thinking about the 2007 season game vs the Ravens. After we scored the touchdown, there were 2 personal fouls committed by the Ravens which resulted in us kicking-off from the Ravens 40 yrd line.

    What would have happened if we had kicked the ball out of bounds?

    The rule stipulates, I believe, that the ball will be placed 30 yards from the spot of the kick-off. So in this scenario, the ball would have been placed on the Ravens 10 yard line!!!

    Did Bill miss a trick here? I was thinking about it as soon as it happened but thought that I might be mistaken in my assumption.

    Can the receiving team decline the penalty and ask he ball to be placed at the point of it going out of bounds?
  2. TriplecHamp

    TriplecHamp Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,520
    Likes Received:
    48
    Ratings:
    +104 / 2 / -1

    #24 Jersey

    per wikipedia
  3. snafu

    snafu Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Thanks for the info.

    I figured it would be something like that.
  4. xmarkd400x

    xmarkd400x Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    This is how I recall it:

    Bill asked the refs about a couple of scenarios. The refs could not state with certainty how some of them would play out, so BB went for the touchback.
  5. ctpatsfan77

    ctpatsfan77 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,847
    Likes Received:
    231
    Ratings:
    +622 / 11 / -6

    Actually, it was 2 fouls and an offsides, so it was a kickoff from the Ratbird 35; an OOB kick would have gone to the 5.

    That said, I would have done what nobody expected, and let Gostkowski kick a squib kick ~12 yards or so and let him fall on it. :D

    [BB apparently said something odd at the presser about half the distance to the goalline, which just would not have applied.]
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>