Welcome to PatsFans.com

A question about NFL NETWORK HD

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by PATRIOTSFANINPA, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PATRIOTSFANINPA

    PATRIOTSFANINPA Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15,719
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    I have has NFL Network for some time now but I just got an HD/DVR Box from my cable company and now when I go to the new NFL Network HD channel,the picture/event sometimes freezes for a slight second or two and some of those annoying little blocks appear during this time (if you know what I mean about these little color blocks which shows up when the picture is freezing for this short time)


    Has anyone had this problem with the HD channels or especially with the HD NFL Network shows? - and if so what is the solution?

    The freezing does not last for more than a second but sometimes its frequent and annoying,especially watching a game or game highlights.

    BTW: I have a 52" Samsung LCD/HDTV flatscreen and I am using a monster HD cable.
  2. djmika760

    djmika760 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    You said "cable company" so im assuming you don't have a dish. Try shortening your cable length if possible and make sure you don't have any splitters from the wall connection. Most times the converter lags due to the rate of info flowing through the cable caused splitters or cable length.
  3. weswelker#83

    weswelker#83 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,535
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0

    I bet you have a sat. dish ?

    If yes , then the problem could be either the LNB or the dish that shakes when it is windy .
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2008
  4. PATRIOTSFANINPA

    PATRIOTSFANINPA Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15,719
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    I DO NOT have Satellite and my cable leads from the wall cable socket directly to the HD/DVD box but still don't know why I get the sporadic 'freezing blocks' on the HD channels,Although I have had that freezing on the regular channels at times as well.

    The cable wire is about 20 feet long and needs to be that long so that it reaches to the HD box which is set to the left of the TV and really the only place I can put it.
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2008
  5. SmokeShowin

    SmokeShowin Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    No Jersey Selected


    Do you have Cox or Comcast? My GF lives in RI and has Cox. She has the same problem. The guy that put the tv and surround sound system said it is a problem with Cox.
  6. PATRIOTSFANINPA

    PATRIOTSFANINPA Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15,719
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    I am in PA and have Service Electric

    (Service Electric is the very first Cable company ever and showed HBOs very first show)
  7. mr3putt

    mr3putt Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

    I have similar problems with NFL/HD

    Using a Samsung 46' LCD with Monster.

    My set has an 8ms frame rate
    I have heard of models that deliver 4ms
    Quicker should translate to less tiles on motion shots

    Can't tell if this is a TV or Content Delivery issue
  8. PATRIOTSFANINPA

    PATRIOTSFANINPA Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15,719
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0

    #12 Jersey

    Yeah dude,Me too - Its frustrting not knowing where the problem lies - I hope I don't have to go through a play in Sunday's game that freezes a second before Brady makes a goaline throw.
  9. fgssand

    fgssand PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -1

    #17 Jersey

    No worries there, it's Tom Brady - the throw will be complete - TOUCHDOWN Patriots!!
  10. weswelker#83

    weswelker#83 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,535
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0


    Replace the cable that leads from the wall cable socket directly to the HD/DVD box , i had the same problem 1 year ago , the guy from the cable company found the source of the problem in 2 min. because he had some tool that check the intensity of signal going from wall throu cables , and there was a loss of quality because of one bad cable.


    Thank me ,tomorrow !
  11. WhiZa

    WhiZa Rookie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    if you have NFLN Hd that means you should have NFLN non-HD. I would watch non-HD see if it freezes, if it doesn't then either have a bad box or bad cable. If you are using a componet connection then try an HDMI cable instead and vice versa. If it still happens, get the cable provider to get you a new box. Won't do you any good for tomorrow's game tho :p
  12. londonderry

    londonderry Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    If it is only happening on that channel, then I doubt it is something wrong with your TV, box, or any other physical component. Most likely, the signal feed from NFLN is temporarily screwy.
    I seem to have this problem on UHD from time to time.

    Good luck, and god bless NFLN!
  13. MrSparkle

    MrSparkle Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0

    The problem is as wes states. It's a signal based problem and you are not getting a strong enough signal. I have had this issue with many people and it's a cable end or a problem with your cable company's signal coming into your home (too many houses on the same node).

    If the recommended fix quoted above does not resolve your issue have your cable company come and do a signal strength test. You should not have to live with tiling (that's what it's called).
  14. Doonan24

    Doonan24 PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    NFLN HD is really disappointing. Sure the NFL replays are in HD, but 80% of their programming has the bars around the outside with a 4:3 ratio in low D. With all the money they have, couldn't they attempt to look more like ESPN HD?
  15. WhiZa

    WhiZa Rookie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

    I agree, but does it really matter if we can see the freckles on Rich Eisen's face?
  16. italia44

    italia44 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Not only that,but the NFLN doesn't broadcast
    in Dolby digital 5.1.

    Not even when they're rebroadcasting a HD
    feed from ESPN,FOX,NBC and CBS.

    So,a replay of a game is in HD(or HD-lite) and they don't carry the original DD 5.1 feed

    This is strictly a money issue with the NFLN,
    everyone broadcasts in DD,but them.

    This is pi$$ poor service...they just don't care.:bricks:
  17. PATRIOT64

    PATRIOT64 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0

    I have HD and I cant even see much hair on Eisen's head either! :p
  18. PATRIOT64

    PATRIOT64 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0

    I have HD and I cant even see much hair on Eisen's head either! :p
  19. italia44

    italia44 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Not only that,but the NFLN doesn't broadcast
    in Dolby digital 5.1.

    Not even when they're rebroadcasting a HD
    feed from ESPN,FOX,NBC and CBS.

    So,a replay of a game is in HD(or HD-lite) and they don't carry the original DD 5.1 feed

    This is strictly a money issue with the NFLN,
    everyone broadcasts in DD,but them.

    This is pi$$ poor service...they just don't care.:bricks:
  20. italia44

    italia44 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Not only that,but the NFLN doesn't broadcast
    in Dolby digital 5.1.

    Not even when they're rebroadcasting a HD
    feed from ESPN,FOX,NBC and CBS.

    So,a replay of a game is in HD(or HD-lite) and they don't carry the original DD 5.1 feed

    This is strictly a money issue with the NFLN,
    everyone broadcasts in DD,but them.

    This is pi$$ poor service...they just don't care.:bricks:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>