Welcome to PatsFans.com

999 The Second Time

Discussion in 'Political Discussion' started by Mrs.PatsFanInVa, Oct 7, 2011.

1. Mrs.PatsFanInVa

Mrs.PatsFanInVa PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

Ratings:
    +371 / 8 / -3

#11 Jersey

Ok....let's try this again. Don't know what happened with the other thread I tried to start - something about "following an invalid link," and "notify administrator." Beats me.

Anyhow....I'll ask one more time. Does anyone know anything about Herman Cain's 999 plan? Has anyone done the math or read where someone else has done the math? Would it help erase our deficit or would it increase it? I'll be the first one to admit that I'm not good with math - but it seems to me that it would place much more burden on the poor and the middle class than it would on the wealthy simply because the poor spend much more of their income on "things." Would the 9% federal sales tax replace the individual state taxes or would it be in addition to? If it replaces it, how do states get their money?

And, just as a final question, Herman Cain says it's not "his" plan but a plan which was worked on and developed by "this country's best economists," but claims he is not at liberty to reveal their names. Why not? Wouldn't they want credit for such a good and simple plan to save the nation's economy? Are they embarassed? Ashamed? Were they former Obama advisors gone over to "the other side?" Or, do they not exist at all?

Chris Wallace Herman Cain | Cain 999 Plan | Video | Mediaite
  2. Holy Diver

Holy Diver Rookie

Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

Uh Oh Herm...

Looks like you aren't tackling that pesky "spending' problem by adressing a broad sales tax.

Me thinks Tea-Party foolios will not like this kind of Tax and spend mentality.
  3. Mrs.PatsFanInVa

Ratings:
    +371 / 8 / -3

#11 Jersey

Careful, HD, if you're really his friend and people want you to be his vice-presidental candidate, you gotta call him Herb.
  4. Holy Diver

Holy Diver Rookie