Welcome to PatsFans.com

2 rules questions???? [mergedx2]

Discussion in 'PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum' started by patfanken, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. patfanken

    patfanken Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,965
    Likes Received:
    802
    Ratings:
    +1,407 / 22 / -11

    #91 Jersey

    I'd like an explaination on two rules that came into play in the first half. I hope I don't have any more.

    1. What was up with the illegal touch on the punt?

    2. Why was the clock stopped after the Jet holding penalty at the end of the half. The Jets made the illegal play, yet it was the Pats who were penalized. I thought that in the last 2 minutes if the offense has a penalty the clock will start again when its spotted. Am I mistaken

    Get to this when you have a minute.
     
  2. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,833
    Likes Received:
    370
    Ratings:
    +945 / 66 / -54

    #50 Jersey

    Re: 2 rules questions????

    The only thing I can think of on the punt is that Andrews went out of bounds and was the 1st person to touch the ball. I will re-watch it later to check.

    As for the 2nd, no clue.
     
  3. pats1

    pats1 Moderator PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,259
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions????

    He went out of bounds, hence the de-hatting of one of the refs.

    That's the rule...
     
  4. Iverson

    Iverson Practice Squad Player

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions????

    How about when Seau tried to call timeout and the ref blew the whistle before the play? Then they called the Pats for offsides... but if the whistle blew before the play (which it definitely did), how could the Pats be called offside? Seau was about 20 yards from the QB so "unimpeded to the QB" doesn't come into play. Not a big deal, but it was the ref who screwed up there by blowing the whistle before the play.
     
  5. BlitzFritz

    BlitzFritz Third String But Playing on Special Teams

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0

    Illegal touching on punt call?

    Did anyone understand the call when Willie Andrews downed the punt on the one yard line?
     
  6. MetalBleachers

    MetalBleachers Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?

    No follow-up on that by the announcers or replay, but I assume Willie went out of bounds and thus was taken out of the play legally: gunners can't run out of bounds and then be the first to touch the football.

    If anyone else got a better look, please add.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  7. reflexblue

    reflexblue PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,799
    Likes Received:
    138
    Ratings:
    +458 / 10 / -7

    #91 Jersey

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?

    I was wundering that my self. He jumped and was in the air when he touched the ball. From what I could see his feet never touched the goal line.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  8. Bostonian1962

    Bostonian1962 In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,050
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +9 / 3 / -0

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?

    I TIVO'd that bad boy a few times. To me, it looked like the ZEBRAS blew the call.
     
  9. pats1

    pats1 Moderator PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,259
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?

    No, they didn't.

    I'm astonished at how many people have talked about this play/. Even Tanguay and Gresh on the postgame didn't know until Bryan Morry called them.

    Didn't anyone notice that one of the refs who was conferencing had his hat off? And didn't anyone associate that (as they should) with a gunner going out of bounds?

    We see this call all the time in games. I'm surprised everyone is surprised about it.
     
  10. TripleOption

    TripleOption Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions???? [merged]

    I was wondering about the multiple fouls the Pats got for encroachment when they were substituting and the Jets tried to quick snap it.

    I thought the rule was that if another team was substituting and the Offense tries to snap the ball and catch them offsides, the Offense gets penalized.
     
  11. sdaniels7114

    sdaniels7114 Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions???? [merged]

    I think the refs only insist on letting the Defense substitute if the Offense does so first; but if the Offense sticks with the same 11 guys from the previous play then they can do whatever they want.

    I can't believe I forgot about what no hat on an official means. Early season cob webs I guess.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  12. Mike the Brit

    Mike the Brit Minuteman Target PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,013
    Likes Received:
    279
    Ratings:
    +677 / 2 / -2

    Disable Jersey

    Re: 2 rules questions???? [merged]

    "Forgot"? I wish! You learn something every game. (By the way, I remember one of the announcers DID give that as the explanation, although he didn't mention the hat.)
     
  13. DaBruinz

    DaBruinz Pats, B's, Sox PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    24,833
    Likes Received:
    370
    Ratings:
    +945 / 66 / -54

    #50 Jersey

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?


    Pats1 -
    What Bostonian was refering to is that to him, based on his re-watching the game footage, it did not look like Andrews went out of bound. Hence, the ref who threw his hat blowing the call.

    I'll be honest. The view I had didn't stay on Andrews well enough and I did lose sight of him. However, I'd be very surprised if Andrews did go out because of where he was when the camera picked him back up... He was too far into the field of play to have gone out, in my opinion. But, again, the camera doesn't show, so I can't be positive.
     
  14. Pujo

    Pujo Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions????

    Then it should have been delay of game against the Pats for calling a timeout they didn't have, either way it's 5 yards.
     
  15. Patsfanin Philly

    Patsfanin Philly Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,928
    Likes Received:
    71
    Ratings:
    +216 / 0 / -0

    #95 Jersey

    Re: 2 rules questions????

    IIRC the refs aren't supposed to grant the timeout and no penalty is called. This came up about a year ago in a game of some importance, ....Here Junior was on the wrong side of the line of scrimmage. Had he been on the Pats sideline I think they would have let the play progress......

    As for the illegal touch, I was on that side of the field up in the nosebleed seats and it looked like he was blocked out of bounds and was the first to touch the ball but there was no clarification in the stadium either.....
     
  16. PatsWickedPissah

    PatsWickedPissah PatsFans.com Supporter PatsFans.com Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24,384
    Likes Received:
    939
    Ratings:
    +2,834 / 26 / -17

    Disable Jersey

    Re: Illegal touching on punt call?

    Reason #101 why I absolutely despise their show. Why can't we have folks who know the game as broadcasters? I hate listening to folks who know less than I do, and I'm no expert. Insight is why I read this forum.

    I grited my teeth when I heard those Bozos discussing their misunderstanding of that play.
     
  17. QuiGon

    QuiGon Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Re: 2 rules questions???? [merged]

    The clock will stop for all penalties (accepted or declined) inside 2 minutes and for most of them, the clock won't start again until the next snap. There are, however, a few exceptions like procedural penalties.

    For example, if the clock is running with less than 60 seconds to go and the offense commits a false start, they will run 10 seconds off the clock AND start it up again when the ball is whistled ready for play.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  18. rabthepat

    rabthepat 2nd Team Getting Their First Start

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Andrew's Illegal Touch Penalty

    On the 1st qtr punt that the Pats downed like on the 2 yd line Andrews was flagged for illegal touch.

    Was it a penalty because he was the first person to touch the ball after stepping out of bounds?
     
  19. makoute

    makoute In the Starting Line-Up

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +98 / 2 / -0

    Re: Andrew's Illegal Touch Penalty

    Yes, pretty much it right there.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

unset ($sidebar_block_show); ?>