Welcome to PatsFans.com

15 vs 17 inch Mac Book Pro

Discussion in 'The PatsFans.com Pub' started by otis p. driftwood, Jul 3, 2008.

1. otis p. driftwood

otis p. driftwood Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

So I currently have a first generation MacBook Pro that I bought as a recon from Apple. My company is doing well, and I've been offered the chance to upgrade--even to the 17" screen if I want.

I originally bought the 15 as a compromise between portability and the extreme lack of cool (my own opinion) offered by a plastic case...something about the brushed metal look is just better.

Anyway, I've wound up not traveling a lot with it, but I already have the protective sleeve and Wenger back pack for the 15...and originally I said I'd be happy with just replacing it with a new 15", but since I said that I've begun to waffle.

I have no experience with a 17" laptop, as far as weight and size go, so I have nothing to measure it against. I'm not certain the extra couple of inches of screen size is worth it...or not.

So I know we've got a couple of Mac guys here, and I was hoping maybe someone could offer some helpful opinions (you know, like...of course I want the 17. Duh, it's bigger, that means it's better, right! LOL).

2. Canada's #1 Pats Fan

Canada's #1 Pats Fan Rotational Player and Threatening Starter's Job

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0

That's tough call. I have the 15 inch power book. It is about 4 years old and I will definitely be upgrading in the next couple of months. The 17 inch looks bulky and cumbersome but on the other hand if I have the chance to upgrade, I probably would. From the 17 inch books I 've tried there isn't a real noticeable difference in weight. What's your gut feeling on this?

3. otis p. driftwood

Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0

Gut feeling is that I want the biggest and best, especially if someone else is paying. LOL.