About The Ads on This Site - New England Patriots Forums - PatsFans.com Patriots Fan Messageboard
NEWS
|
FORUM
|
PHOTOS
|
VIDEOS
|
FULL STATS DATABASE
|
PODCAST
|
RUMOR MILL
Get Social With PatsFans.com
Early Roster Projection
Ryan's Journey Started Early
POST DRAFT PODCAST

Go Back   New England Patriots Forums - PatsFans.com Patriots Fan Messageboard > PatsFans.com Forums > PatsFans.com - Patriots Fan Forum
Forgot Password? Join PatsFans.com!
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read Chat Room

WELCOME TO OUR FORUM HERE AT PATSFANS.COM!
ARE YOU NEW HERE? NOT LOGGED IN? PLEASE TAKE A MOMENT TO REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT AND LOGIN TO REMOVE THIS WINDOW

Welcome to PatsFans.com. Do you have an account? If not - please take a moment to register for our forum and experience a much smoother experience with fewer ads, along with no longer having to see this notification window. Also learn about how you can receive a free Patriots T-Shirt from the Patriots Official ProShop by CLICKING HERE. Please enjoy your stay here, and Go Pats!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2006, 12:23 AM   #1
Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
 
zippo59's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Who wants to know?
Posts: 5,072
Default About The Ads on This Site

Has anyone else noted the advertisement at the top of the thread display page for ebay, offering a Pats fans a Adam Vinatieri pin and a Deion Branch Jersey.

Note to advertisers--If you want to get Pats fans pissed off, bring up Deion Branch or Adam Vinatieri.

You'd think they would try to lure us in by offering merchandise that is not connected to players whose names make us want to vomit.

But there is sort of an irony to it.
__________________
"What Tom Brady just did gives me goose bumps."-John Madden after final drive in SB 36


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Unofficial Kevin Faulk supporter.

Last edited by zippo59; 09-03-2006 at 12:25 AM..
zippo59 is offline   Reply With Quote
FEATURED ADVERTISEMENT
DONATE TO PATSFANS.COM
RECEIVE A FREE PATS T-SHIRT AND SAVE 15% OFF WHEN YOU BUY FROM THE OFFICIAL PROSHOP!

Free T-Shirt & Save 15% Off!
Like Our Site? Please help support our site and server costs by DONATING TO PATSFANS.COM and receive a FREE PATRIOTS T-SHIRT and SAVE 15% off EVERY purchase you make from PatriotsProShop.com. You'll also receive added benefits to your account
including Removing All Ads During Your Experience Here At Our Forum.

NEEDED YEARLY SITE DONATIONS: 345 | CURRENT # OF SUBSCRIBED SUPPORTERS: 98

Updated 07/08/11

Help Us Reach Our Goal!

Old 09-03-2006, 12:35 AM   #2
In the Starting Line-up
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 2,419
Default Re: About The Ads on This Site

Zippo,

Believe it or not, the people who run this site really don't have control over some of the ads. This is a thing called Google Adsense, and the program shoots out site related and key word related ads, therefore pointing people interested in this site towards Patriots related Ads. I actually bought a brand new Bruschi Replica jersey on Ebay last night for $62, which incuded shipping. A pretty hefty savings over the Pats proshop (79.99 +tax+shipping would have cost me $90+). Whenever you see Ads by Google, it means a website uses Google Adsense. Plus Google pays the website everytime someone clicks on the ads. Just like most websites, Patsfans is trying to make some money, and provide a wonderful service to us Pats fans.
scott99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 12:39 AM   #3
Experienced Starter w/First Big Contract
 
zippo59's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Who wants to know?
Posts: 5,072
Default Re: About The Ads on This Site

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott99
Zippo,

Believe it or not, the people who run this site really don't have control over some of the ads. This is a thing called Google Adsense, and the program shoots out site related and key word related ads, therefore pointing people interested in this site towards Patriots related Ads. I actually bought a brand new Bruschi Replica jersey on Ebay last night for $62, which incuded shipping. A pretty hefty savings over the Pats proshop (79.99 +tax+shipping would have cost me $90+). Whenever you see Ads by Google, it means a website uses Google Adsense. Plus Google pays the website everytime someone clicks on the ads. Just like most websites, Patsfans is trying to make some money, and provide a wonderful service to us Pats fans.
I am aware the site has no control over it. I just think it's kinda funny.
__________________
"What Tom Brady just did gives me goose bumps."-John Madden after final drive in SB 36


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Unofficial Kevin Faulk supporter.
zippo59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 01:09 AM   #4
2nd Team Getting Their First Start
 
smg93's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: About The Ads on This Site

Googles Adsense takes keywords from whatever is posted on this board and tries to figure out what's hot at this moment and then looks for products that match. That's probably why DB's stuff have been advertised lately. Obviously Adam's status must have come up a lot lately too.
smg93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sponsored Links



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

© Copyright 2000-2012. PatsFans.com Is a Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.
The opinions posted in this forum do not necessarily reflect the opinions of our staff at PatsFans.com or USA Today.
We are not affiliated with the New England Patriots™ or the NFL™. The Photo Used In the header was taken by Ian Logue.

This site is owned and operated by I&K Internet Design Enterprises, LLC